Amsterdam on the Willamette: I got yer bike infrastructure right here …

A traffic light on a bike path in Brussels is an example of European investment in bicycles as transportation

A traffic light on a bike path in Brussels is an example of European investment in bicycles as transportation

I recently spent a couple of days in Portland, Oregon, a city I’ve known peripherally for years as a Seattle resident. I’ve always sort of seen Portland as Seattle’s younger, slightly hipper brother to the south, with better beer but sadly lacking in salt water. But having spent a gloriously sunny summer-like morning tooling around the City of Roses on a borrowed single-speed, I’m here to tell you that, when it comes to bike transportation, Portland unequivocally kicks Seattle’s ass.

(read more …)

About liammoriarty

I'm a journalist living in Seattle and Europe. This blog is to explore the connections and commonalities between Western Europe and the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Climate change, Energy, Transport, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment